Home > Uncategorized > What is a news peg, again?

What is a news peg, again?

One of you asked this question last night; I thought I would answer it for everyone.

A news peg is what makes the story timely or newsworthy now. For example, you could be working for months on a story about, say, increased costs of healthcare in Massachusetts, but your news peg might be a just-announced hike in health insurance costs. It would be the element of the story that makes it timely and important now, the reason why you wouldn’t wait two weeks to run the story.

Another example: the endless array of movie stars who are guests on the late-night shows. Those folks don’t usually show up on those shows because they like to chat with Letterman or Colbert; they do it because — you guessed it — they have a movie or project coming out. That is the ‘news peg’ for having them on the program then. The reason to do it, and do it now.

And you ALWAYS want to have a news peg for your story. If there isn’t an obvious one, you will look for one, because it will make your story stronger. It gives your reader/viewer/listener more reason to pay attention and how it connects to the here and now, instead of looking like a random story that was done because the reporter was really interested in the topic.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. February 28, 2012 at 5:40 pm

    gnma

  2. weh
    March 2, 2012 at 9:47 am

    ???????????????????????

  3. Lauren
    March 30, 2012 at 2:55 pm

    Thanks this is a great way to explain it!

  4. abass zakari
    April 25, 2012 at 5:30 am

    i’m ok about the axplanation, what of the examples. Tanks.

  5. August 10, 2012 at 1:35 am

    tnx:) it helped me a lot.

  6. September 14, 2012 at 2:05 pm

    Thanks for the great info. I have also done a lot of research on products like this and posted it on my site. You might want to see what I’ve found. Crazy!

  7. January 30, 2013 at 2:10 am

    I personally was searching for techniques for my web site and
    observed your own posting, “What is a news peg,
    again? Journalism 101”, do you care if perhaps I
    really use several of ur tips? Thank you -Alice

  8. March 20, 2013 at 2:29 pm

    Tnx so much

  9. April 19, 2013 at 10:16 pm

    This sound too similar to keywords and is the definition of relevancy in the news media. As a broadcaster we were always looking for tie-ins to newsworthy items and to get them before the other guys did.

  10. Joy
    April 21, 2013 at 5:23 pm

    Datz a gud xplanation, bt stil dnt gt it clear.

  11. May 30, 2013 at 9:19 am

    Hello There. I discovered your weblog the usage of msn. This is an extremely
    well written article. I’ll be sure to bookmark it and come back to learn more of your useful info. Thank you for the post. I will definitely return.

  12. June 28, 2013 at 3:31 pm

    Wow, that’s what I was seeking for, what a information! present here at this website, thanks admin of this web site.

  13. Didy
    July 3, 2013 at 2:58 am

    for me is not quty fine, can u explain for me more about new peg in surveying example pegs used in mines.

  14. August 10, 2013 at 6:56 pm

    Hi there would you mind letting me know which web host you’re utilizing? I’ve loaded your blog in 3 completely different internet browsers and I
    must say this blog loads a lot quicker then most.
    Can you recommend a good hosting provider at a fair
    price? Many thanks, I appreciate it!

  15. October 16, 2013 at 4:23 pm

    Thank you for this. I have a project for my Religion in Film, TV & News Media class and your definition saved me, lol.

    Thank you,

    Jae Lei Nyght

  16. Musungu M Pascal
    December 27, 2013 at 5:14 am

    well explained but, how can I write a good feature story? kindly I need your aid through my email

  17. AFREEN
    April 29, 2014 at 1:21 am

    STORY PEG AND NEWS PEG ARE SAME ???

  18. AUWAL SHEHU S
    May 2, 2014 at 7:44 am

    i need more explanation on the lead in a report writing

  19. September 14, 2014 at 12:50 am

    It’s an awesome paragraph in favor of all the web people; they will obtain benefit from
    it I am sure.

  20. March 7, 2017 at 1:42 pm

    Thanks a bunch for sharing this with all of us you actually know what you are talking about! Bookmarked. Kindly also visit my site =). We could have a link exchange contract between us!

  21. USA
    July 18, 2019 at 12:10 am

    Thank you for another great article. Where else could anybody get that
    kind of information in such an ideal manner of writing? I’ve a
    presentation next week, and I am at the search for such info.

  22. Alex Mack
    April 2, 2020 at 6:05 am

    Who can write more clearly than you about such matters!

    I promise you, nobody, I have seen something like this only
    on https://nonstatusindian.com/how-to-create-argumentative-essay-outline-properly/. I enjoyed the guide
    and suppose you have more such stuff? If yes, so please post it since it’s somewhat unusual for me in the present
    moment, and not just for me, that is my view. Hopefully, I can get an in-depth manual of
    yours and take note of all of the news and the latest data.

  23. October 15, 2020 at 11:39 am

    I do not know if it’s just me or if everyone else experiencing problems with your blog.
    It appears as though some of the text on your content are running off the screen. Can somebody else please provide feedback and let me know if this is happening to them as well?
    This might be a issue with my internet browser because
    I’ve had this happen previously. Appreciate it

  1. January 21, 2012 at 6:23 pm
  2. February 17, 2012 at 8:50 pm
  3. March 16, 2013 at 9:28 pm
  4. August 5, 2013 at 12:07 am
  5. July 10, 2016 at 11:48 pm
  6. October 30, 2016 at 10:05 pm
  7. February 20, 2017 at 4:56 pm
  8. November 12, 2017 at 7:54 pm
  9. January 2, 2019 at 12:46 am
  10. November 30, 2020 at 12:39 am

Leave a comment